Experimental Life {Update 7}

It has been quite some time since I’ve written about this Experimental Life.  For those of you who are curious, you can read through my journey, starting with that link up there, and then moving forward in this order:

Update 1 | Update 2 | Update 3 | Update 4 | Update 5 | Update 6

Okay, my last update was 22 June. So, that means there are a few things I must catch you up on, in case you don’t keep up with me on Facebook. First and foremost, we’ve had 2 ultrasounds now, during the first of which I severely argued with the technician because I couldn’t believe what she told us literally 5 seconds after I laid down:

We are absolutely ecstatic, can’t believe our blessings, and can’t wait to meet this little guy!  In the meantime, however, he and I are going to be struggling with one another.

Up until now, there’s been nothing to update – yes, that’s well over two months! – because the journey has been SO smooth.  I have been eating within our Paleo diet almost completely, except the few carbs that I’ve gotten in emergency situations (my blood sugar has often gone too low over the past 2 months). I have been so ecstatic, especially when I realize I have gone 3+ months longer than with any other pregnancy without insulin shots! I have felt good and I wasn’t even looking that pregnant! Those two things are amazing blessings, if I could only show you comparisons from past experiences!

However, things have changed recently.  My blood sugars are suddenly spiking without a diet change.  This was bound to happen. I’m sure I’ve shared before that eventually mommy and baby start arguing about how to utilize resources and it becomes a constant balancing act.  I have, apparently, entered that stage. My fasting numbers are high (this morning, for instance, was 127) and my post-prandials have freaked me out a bit (the highest was yesterday at 242). I have an appointment tomorrow with the doctor, and we will most likely start with the small step of increasing my Glyburide intake.  If past experience compares to current experience, I believe this won’t last long and I will be on insulin shots before the end of September.

Now, this IS depressing me some. It’s not easy to handle those shots, especially with the risks they pose to baby and mommy, and the small sneaking feeling that I have “failed”. I can’t get rid of that yucky phrase in my head. However, I am continually amazed at how well everything has gone until now, and must remind myself: I’m in the home stretch, and I will be holding this baby so very soon, and that it is all worth it!

The other risk I face in pregnancy – the one that actually has caused me to be induced with two 32-weekers, a 36-weeker, and a 37-weeker, is severe pre eclampsia.  There’s some scuttlebutt in the medical community that gestational diabetes, high triglycerides (which I struggle with outside of pregnancy), and pre eclampsia are all interrelated. The kicker is, they haven’t figured out HOW yet, so all a doctor can do is nod his head and say “I assumed so” as I go down my list of issues. Some day – long after I’m done birthing babies – they’ll have it all figured out, I’m sure!

At any rate, the pre eclampsia (high blood pressure, intense swelling, and protein found in urine) is starting to rear it’s ugly head. I can feel it in the swelling in my ankles and hands. I can feel intense swelling in my wrists actually, as the carpal tunnel begins to set in again. And I assume it’s coming – the moments when I’m rushing to the hospital because the swelling is intense, the headache is pulsing without relief, the hot flashes overtake me – and the doctor says, “It’s time to have this little guy”. The risk with severe pre eclampsia, in case you don’t know (and sometimes I forget that my experiences have educated me so well!) are things like blurred vision, lack of blood flow to the placenta, even the risk of seizures to mommy. After 32 weeks gestation, the best treatment for severe pre eclampsia is delivering the baby.

So, I will continue to do the best I can do with diet and exercise. I will be thankful that I have amazing doctors who are looking out for baby and mommy, that we will be delivering this little guy in a hospital with a good NICU (neo-natal intensive care unit), and that one of my dearest friends has been a NICU nurse for a very long time and helps talk me through all of those experiences, should they occur. (God knew what he was doing when he hooked Tory and I up 22 years ago!)

I’m still a firm believer that Paleo is the way to treat gestational diabetes. It has done AMAZING things for me in this pregnancy, as compared to previous pregnancies! If you have any questions, please feel free to contact me. I would love to help you learn how to go Paleo, too!

Leave a Reply

