Wandering Wednesdays {31 August 2011}

We weathered some crazy natural events last week & weekend.  It was nowhere near as great as it could have been. And when it was all over, we went for a walk on the beach.  Because that is exactly where I needed to be.

As we walked down the boardwalk, I looked towards the waves and noticed a couple standing not 10 feet out of the surf, arguing.  Arms were flailing, voices were raised, tears were pouring down. I said out loud (though not intentionally): “This is no place to argue, folks.”

Mr. Marine asked how I knew that they were really arguing. “Because,” I said, “I’ve been there.”

Arguing. About everything. Never finding peace. No, not even for a moment. Standing next to one of the most massive masterpieces the Creator put within our reach and still not accepting that there is something bigger than whatever it was we were tied up in at that moment. Wanting, with all certainty, peace and contentment and feeling as if there were so many obstacles between myself and that beautiful road that I would never find it.

As we walked on, I watched the waves crash, the sun rise, the birds fly, the dolphins swim, the little girl laugh at the breeze through her hair… and I grasped Mr. Marine’s hand more tightly. Because I have been so low, I can know the great heights, and to a Creator who knew that’s exactly what it would take for me, I am eternally grateful.

One thought on “Wandering Wednesdays {31 August 2011}

Leave a Reply

