Murphy Mondays {22 August 2011}

Murphy Mondays is my chance to catch y’all up on what’s been going on in our lives here.  When I was a kid, separated by many miles from our closest friends and family, my dad wrote a “Monday morning email” to tell everyone what we were all up to.  This is that very thing, only a bit more technology is thrown into the mix with blogging 🙂

Well, this past week was full of finishing “Throw Out Fifty Things”, very few precious family moments, an amazing scrapbooking journey, and a lot of mommy/daughter time. Daddy’s schedule is off the wall and aside from working 14-16 hours a day during the week, he’s also been stuck working a lot of weekends, so Rhyan and I are learning how to fill up more of our time without Daddy.  It’s rough on her, as she asks for him a lot!

My Throw Out Fifty Things task is FINISHED.  (Although, I’m not really done, because it just struck me this weekend of another area I can tackle!)  The living room was one of the trickiest parts of our small place to tackle.  We have BIG furniture. In a TINY room. And it’s not like I’m going to throw out my beloved sectional couch, having no idea where the military will move me next.  So, we had to do with what we had. First, we realized we had the possibility for two TV stands in our living room. So, the one we were using as a TV stand was given away and the other became our new stand. And that worked. For about a week. But, here’s what I was staring at:

And I couldn’t stop getting stressed out. Too many books. Sitting there, collecting dust, because they’ve all been read, and we won’t read them again, and they needed a new home. So, here’s what I did next:

And it made me feel better, because there’s nothing unnecessary in my living room anymore. Except of course – I was staring at wires. (Oh, and never mind my photography abilities. They leave much to be desired.) So, I did what any good granddaughter and daughter of electricians would do: bought electrical tape and zip ties.

It worked! And our living room feels much less cluttered now, which is good for my soul!

Before I close this week’s letter, I wanted to share with you one last thing. This is the gorgeous image the Creator gave me last night, just before our week began:

This beautiful moment came to me as I was dreading the start of another long and difficult week, throwing a pity party for myself because some things didn’t happen the way I wish they would have this past week, and being overwhelmed by the idea that there are some things that will never change. And then the Creator’s very hand reached down, painted those water drops on this simple plant in front of my door, and reminded me that He can, indeed, make all things new. After a moment like that, how can one not move onward and upward with a renewed spirit?!

Until next week …

2 thoughts on “Murphy Mondays {22 August 2011}

  1. Your entertainment center looks awesome!! I need to do that, “throw out 50 things”, too!! I talked to Jack about it, and he’s all for it….as long as it’s MY THINGS that get thrown out.l….LOL!! We seriously need to do this though. But I think we are both borderline hoarders! I find something sentimental about everything….and a reason to hang on to it. If you look at our Reunion photos, you’ll see the results of that in our garage!!
    Congratulations on a project well done. Maybe I need to get the book…..and read it to get me started.
    Have a lovely Monday. Hugs for all of you!

    • Oh, Linda! A few thoughts for you: 1) I had to refrain from touching ANY of Chris’s things – but he eventually followed right behind me and started getting rid of his own things, as well! and 2) you’ll LOVE my next project, which I’m going to tackle this week: Going through all of my sentimental possessions, photographing them, writing about them, and then throwing them out. Really – my children are never going to wear my letter jacket, I’m never going to pull that newspaper article out and read it, but having it photographed and journaling about it ARE two ways I can keep sentimental things near and dear to my heart! You DEFINITELY should pick up the book!! And AS you read it, start working! It’s AMAZING…. soul-cleansing!

Leave a Reply

