Cloth Diapering

I have been asked MANY times over the past few months why in the world I would switch to cloth diapers.  People seem astounded by this choice, or never even have contemplated doing it in their own family. I have heard every reason under the sun for not using cloth, most of which stems from simply not understanding the process.

So, first – WHY did we switch? The answer is simple: our daughter had some heavy duty rashes on her bum from the use of disposables. The only thing that would clear it up was to keep her fully out of diapers, which isn’t really possible with a young two year old who has no desire to use the potty yet. The pediatrician shook his head when told of this issue and said, “This never happened when they used cloth all the time.” And – that’s what changed our minds, immediately.

The cost to get started stressed me out a bit, so I did some figuring to see how we could afford the change.  What I found surprised me!

Not only could we afford to do it, now I knew we HAD to do it! For ONE child, I could save over $1,000? And now, expecting another little one?! Goodness, that’s a lot of savings!

I cut costs even more than that chart shows. I only wash twice a week, I have bought used covers and inserts, and I’ve bought (mostly) gender-neutral covers so that I don’t have to purchase again when our little boy shows up.

And, who can resist how absolutely adorable this looks?

If you are interested in cloth diapering your kiddos but have questions about how to get started, how to wash, or any other thing, PLEASE feel free to contact me!

 

One thought on “Cloth Diapering

Leave a Reply

