{defined by …?}


Hi, I’m Megan. I’m a mom, a wife, an ex-wife, a non-custodial Mom, a Marine wife, a daughter, sister, friend, aunt, writer, paper crafter, pastor’s kid, ex-pastor’s-wife, a believer, a skeptic, a cook, a maid, a traveler, a wanderer, a struggler, a den mother, a force to be reckoned with.

I do it every single day. I define myself by the roles I have played, the roles I do play, the roles I want to play. When I meet someone new, I almost always find myself going to the typical, “What do you do?” line of conversation. We find ourselves defined in life by so many things that we never wanted to precede or follow our names at all. And, yet. We’re defined.

I have spent most of my life running away from the “Oh, you’re a pastor’s kid?!” statements that are made with eyebrows arched. Admitting that I’m divorced – let alone from a pastor – and am a non-custodial parent, immediately defines me in most people’s eyes.  These things are ugly.  Definition by roles is not acceptable according to God. Did you know that?! Instead, we’re told to be DEFINED BY CHRIST, and to instead dress in the wardrobe of compassion, kindness, humility, quiet strength, and discipline, because we have been chosen by God for this new life of love! (Colossians 3:11-12)

I sat down this morning to complete a task that I’ve been attempting for a few years.  I’ve been trying to get all of my thoughts and feelings about the definitions of my life out on paper, but I just can’t quite tackle it in a blog post.  (Maybe someday I’ll do so in a book, because the topic seems to be much more expansive than a blog post allows for.)  Instead, as I sat down to write about these definitions, I found myself drawn towards writing a mission statement.  Something that outlines my prioritized roles in life and defines them with action steps.  Something that would clearly highlight for me what I AM, versus what I think others see me as, what I have been, and what I am afraid of becoming.  It’s always better to give yourself direction, instead of spinning wildly out of control by paralyzing thoughts, yes? So, here is my proclamation that I am not yet what I want to be, but I have a plan for becoming more closely aligned:

* To unceasingly, and with great zeal, pursue and tackle head on God’s Heart.

* To always love fully and never provide a reason for doubt to my partner in life.

* To be unfailingly present in the lives of my children, even when not physically possible.

* To be always challenged and inspired to write, providing challenge and inspiration for readers.

* To provide beauty with love through creative abilities.

* To be forever a “den mother”, providing compassion and guidance to young Marines and wives.

I was completely inspired by being a Facebook stalker, honestly.  I read this morning about a woman who was admitting “failing” at her first morning of “Maximize Your Mornings“, and it got me curious, so I did a quick Google search.  Next thing I know, I’m liking the Inspired to Action Facebook page, adding their RSS feed to my Google Reader, and suddenly I’m staring headlong at Mission Statements for Moms. You MUST check it out.  But, no – Inspired to Action has no clue I exist at all. Whatsoever. Hmm, but maybe I should tell them I just plastered them all over my blog…..

One thought on “{defined by …?}

  1. What’s great mission statement!! I’m SO glad the ebook encouraged you! And thanks for the plaster! 😉

Leave a Reply

