My Military Life

I was a sophomore in college when I transferred schools to southeastern Michigan. I walked in to my new dorm room and met my roommate that day – sitting in the middle of the floor with her Bible and notes spread all out around her. And I fell in love 🙂 Em isn’t just one of those fun to hang out with girls – though she definitely is fun – she’s one of those life long friend types.

Life has changed a lot since that day we first met, and we have been through a lot together, as well as separately.  There were years we really didn’t have any contact.  And now, our lives are so amazingly similar that you can only believe it’s God ordained. What I’m about to do this weekend, however, is only because of My Military Life.

Emily is now married to a man who is active duty Army, former Marine. He’s training at a local Army base this week and next, and has liberty this weekend. So, he’ll be coming Saturday and hanging with us. Am I excited? Yes! To see an old friend? No. I’ve never met the man. Never. Met. Him. And he’s staying in my house.

Now, in my civilian days, this type of decision is what I call ridiculous and “asking for trouble”. But, in My Military Life, I’d let a brother’s cousin’s great aunt’s nephew stay at my house for five months, if my buddy told me it would be okay. Even better, if the nephew ended up being active duty military. Further, I’d make sure I cooked a big meal, cleaned the spare room, got fresh towels out, and had his favorite drink in the fridge.

In my civilian days, I often ran into groups of people with whom I didn’t know what to talk about. I’d spend hours contemplating what we’d discuss on our gathering, or what clever ways I might come up with to break the silence. I don’t worry about how the time with Al will go or what we’ll talk about. Put two Marines in a room and they will talk until the wee hours of the morning about the things they’ve seen and done and the places they’ve been.

Only in My Military Life would my college roommate marry a man who is active duty Army, become active duty herself, and then when we can’t manage a gathering, send her husband to hang out with us for the weekend, instead. Only in My Military Life would that same girl give up a Saturday to make sure my business had another chance at success. Only in My Military Life would my daughter grow up calling what seems like random people Aunt and Uncle, because … well, you just have no clue how close we all are in this military life, and how quickly life can pass, and how you must absolutely say today what you mean because tomorrow just might not make it.

Have I mentioned how much I love My Military Life?

6 thoughts on “My Military Life

  1. what a beautiful story, Megan! Brings tears to my eyes!

    Is there anyway that you could share yours and Chris’ story with me again. I saved it in my favorites, but it’s like saving a newspaper article…it goes back to the current issue. So I lost it and I wanted to read it again and again.
    No hurry….I know how busy you are.
    Bless your heart.
    Love you 3.

  2. So…I’m sitting here in my office with tears streaming down my face (and I DO NOT care!)…you see I am the roommate!

    I am so very thankful for you in my life Megan!!! And while I’m super jealous that Al gets to see you and I don’t…I’m also super excited that he gets to meet my best friend! And some day I will get to meet your Marine 🙂

    Love you!!!

    • Em, I love you too! And I couldn’t have PLANNED a more amazing forever friendship connection if I had tried! Love when God sees the big picture more clearly than we do, and it eventually becomes apparent to us!

      Can’t wait to visit with you – hopefully SOON! And I promise to take about a billion pictures this weekend!! 🙂

  3. Very good reading & a great insight into more of this awesome friendship I hear so much about! I am looking forward to finally meeting my wifes ole college buddy! 🙂 Not to mention being able to finally hang out with some Jarheads!

  4. I have been re-reading all of your stories and no matter how many times I read them, they never fail to touch my heart!!
    You are such a blessing to so many people!!

Leave a Reply

