Moments

I have long been a fan of moments.  “Life is measured not by the number of breaths you take, but by the number of moments that take your breath away.”  I have absolutely no problem at all living in the moment that takes my breath away, and even the smallest things tend to affect me that way.  The gorgeous flowers blooming alongside the road, the simple laugh of a child, the sunrise  or the full moon that the Creator painted just for me. But, when those moments feel few and far between and life gets too tough to tackle, I find myself lost. I can’t seem to even remember the last beautiful moment I expected, even though they are plentiful in my life. But, put me smack dab in the middle of a combat deployment or a fight with my ex, and the beautiful moments in life have completely disappeared from my life.

“Life is a journey, not a destination.”

“God has the bigger picture, and there’s a reason I do not.”

“Cherish the moments.”

Those three phrases came up repeatedly yesterday in a beautiful conversation I had with a new friend.  At one point, she said, “That’s why you do your paper crafting isn’t it? To cherish those moments?” And with that, she had finally answered for me a question I’ve never been able to answer – Why do I have an insatiable desire to create?  And then this project came to me – why wouldn’t I spend moments getting my moments into a book, so that when the next storm in life comes, I have a visual reminder of the good moments.   And here you have the start of my simple moments journal.

Moments Title Page

The hand written note is simply a reiteration of what I just shared with you above. The graphic I used is something I’ve been holding on to for a while.  It reminds me so much of the simple joy I felt as a kid on a swing.  Seemed quite perfect for the beginning of this project!

"Random"

This page provides a place for me to tack on memories I have of moments from the past years.  The four that I added this morning are:

*At the age of 2-3, Faith called her swimsuit a “suitcase”.

*Noah said “Uh oh” at the age of 15 months with a big “O” face.

*An eagle shows up often to remind me I am not alone. Ever.

*A new friend calls me the strongest person she’s ever known.

May 2010

This is a page for me to write down things that happen in the month of May. My GOAL is to write down something from every day, but we’ll see if that actually happens.  Now, a word on using my handwriting – I HATE IT.  I have never ever used my own handwriting in scrapbooks because it is not at all beautiful.  But, on this project, I felt it was necessary.  When I come across a sampling of my mother or grandmother’s handwriting, I feel that much more close to them, and I felt like it was only fair to give my own children the same feeling when they find  this project in the future.

The only thing I haven’t shared with you yet is the pages that will include a picture that is special to me along with some journaling.  Mind you, I have had most of these pictures matted and on a page for two years now, but have not been able to get into the journaling portion.  Now I plan on just diving in, head first, to mark my moments.

What are you doing to remind yourself of the moments that have taken your breath away?

2 thoughts on “Moments

  1. God I love this idea. You never cease to amaze me. We’ll definetly have to sit down so you can help me start and create my personal journal.

Leave a Reply

