I saw God today

Some words from George Strait (which came on the radio on my way to Water’s Edge this morning)…

I just walked down the street to the coffee shop
had to take a break
I’d been by her side for eighteen hours straight
I saw a flower growing in the middle of the sidewalk
pushing up through the concrete
like it was planted right there for me to see
the flashin’ lights, the honkin’ horns
all seemed to fade away
in the shadow of that hospital at 5:08
I saw God today

Chorus:
I’ve been to church
I’ve read the book
I know He’s here, but I don’t look
near as often as I should
Yeah, I know I should
His fingerprints are everywhere
I’d just slow down to stop and stare
opened my eyes and man I swear
I saw God today

I saw a couple walking by they were holding hands
Man, she had that glow
yeah I couldn’t help but notice she was starting to show
I stood there for a minute takin’ in the sky
lost in that sunset
a splash of amber melted in the shades of red

Chorus

I got my face pressed up against the nursery glass
She’s sleeping like a rock
My name on her wrist wearing tiny pink socks
She’s got my nose, she’s got her mama’s eyes
My brand new baby girl
She’s a miracle
I saw God today

And then I entered into a true time of worship. I don’t mean just sitting and standing and singing and closing eyes when the pastor says it’s time to pray. I mean really really seeing my Creator meet me right where I was. All the stuff that gets in the way sometimes of not really being able to see clearly what the greater picture is melted away – not even slowly, but quite dramatically.

When the music fades
And all is stripped away
And I simply come
Longing just to bring
Something that’s of worth
That will bless your heart

I’ll bring You more than a song
For a song in itself
Is not what You have required
You search much deeper within
Through the ways things appear
You’re looking into my heart

I’m coming back to the heart of worship
And it’s all about You
All about You, Jesus
I’m sorry Lord for the thing I’ve made it
When it’s all about You
It’s all about You Jesus

I am completely stricken by the words “You search much deeper within through the way things appear.” I have been struggling through living in true community lately. It is a struggle well worth having  and quite honestly more self-induced than I originally realized. But, struggle through whatever hits you and you’ll find something more beautiful on the other side. At the very start, I found a family that I had all but stopped communicating with become more loving than I ever imagined and now truly irreplaceable in my life. Then, I found truly the man God deemed my partner in life. And now as I struggle further, I have found a true pastor and body of believers. Thank you, God, for meeting me through my struggles – nay, for even welcoming them. And for reminding me through the oh-so-holy words of George Strait and of Matt Redman that God’s presence is everywhere, even in the place of struggle and newness.

“But the time is coming – it has, in fact, come – when what you’re called will not matter and where you go to worship will not matter. It’s who you are and the way you live that count before God. Your worship must engage your spirit in the pursuit of truth. That’s the kind of people the Father is out looking for: those who are simply and honestly themselves before him in their worship.” {John 4:22-23, The Message}

Leave a Reply

